Ammonoosuc Community Health Services, Inc.


ACHS is governed by a consumer Board of Directors, at least 51% of which are ACHS patients. This truly makes ACHS patient-centered. All members are citizens who live and work in the communities we serve and come to the table equipped with an array of  professional backgrounds, including health care, banking, education, legal and financial institutions, and business owners.

Under the Section 330 Program Requirements all FQHC Boards of Directors must have a majority of consumer members. To be considered a consumer, persons must receive the majority of their health care at the FQHC. FQHC Boards must carry legal and fiduciary responsibility for clinic operations and grants, must perform periodic strategic planning and evaluate progress toward organizational goals. The Boards of Directors have responsibility to approve Annual Budgets and all federal grant applications, and they must meet at least monthly and keep Board meeting minutes. They must have full authority over all aspects of clinic operations, and no other entity/individual can have the ability to override or veto governing board decisions.

Are you interested in becoming a board member? Please contact Ed Shanshala II, MSHSA, MSEd, ACHS CEO, at 603.444.8223.


ACHS Board President

Doug Harman Bethlehem, NH

ACHS Board Vice President

Mark Secord • Lisbon, NH

ACHS Board Treasurer

John Rapoport • Whitefield, NH

ACHS Board Secretary

Ned Densmore • Franconia, NH



Erik Becker  • Lancaster, NH

Rick Christofferson  • Sugar Hill, NH

Elizabeth Harman • Bethlehem, NH

Sandy Laleme  • Bethlehem, NH

Gary Merchant  • Claremont, NH

Ivy Pearson  • Whitefield, NH

John Rapoport, Ph.D Dalton, NH

Ron Spaulding, DDS • St. Johnsbury, VT


Senior Leadership

Edward Shanshala II, MSHSA, MSEd • Chief Executive Officer

Ken Riebel • Chief Financial Officer

Teresa Brooks • Chief Operations Officer

Sarah Young-Xu, MD • Medical Director

Lisa Bujno, MSN, APRN • Assistant Medical Director

Crystal Rutledge • Human Resources Manager

Stephen Noyes, LICSW, LADC • Director of Integrated Behavioral Health

Damian-Anthony Canuto, PharmD, RPh • Pharmacy Director

Jill Kimball • Community Relations Manager