Ammonoosuc Community Health Services, Inc.


FQHC - Federally Qualified Health Center

A Federally Qualified Health Center is a special designation signifying the health center meets certain criteria and receives federal benefits. The criteria include having a nonprofit status, providing comprehensive primary care and preventive services, being governed by a consumer board of at least 51 percent, and being located in a medically underserved area. FQHCs receive federal grant funding, and are eligible for federal malpractice coverage for their providers to help them provide health care services to anyone, regardless of ability to pay.

PCMH - Patient Centered Medical Home

A “Patient Centered Medical Home” is a model for care provided by physician practices that seeks to strengthen the physician-patient relationship by replacing episodic care based on illnesses and patient complaints with coordinated care. This model includes patient involvement in medical decision making.

Patient Centered Medical Home Overview Video

Patient Centered Medical Home Relationships Video


Community Health Centers focus on prevention and education. ACHS not only provides primary medical care similar to that of a family physician, but also offers social services, chronic disease management, behavioral and oral health. The federal health center program is deemed one of the ten most successful federal programs and health centers are recognized as models for screening, diagnosing and managing chronic diseases such as diabetes, asthma, depression and cardiovascular disease.

16 Minutes: Open Doors to Health in New Hampshire Video

Downloadable Materials